all children

Dear world… I went to a meeting yesterday. Children Consultative Council. I had to give a presentation at one point about thinking global, which was okay. On a whole, the meeting was pretty mellow and cruisy, at times even slightly boring. But at the centre of what we were discussing was the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC).
Basically it’s a list of 54 rights that every child in the world is entitled to.
It was pretty straight forward.
A right to nutritious food, a home, water etc.
I read further… and I came across Article 8
“Governments should respect children’s right to a name, a nationality and family ties”a name…
it’s a right to have a name.
in article 8…
it dawned on me that for this to be a right, or something to be considered by the UN, it would have to be a problem.
that children out there, who suffer so much more than I do, may not even have this right, outlined in article 8, being met.
And on this note of… suffering. I continued reading on. All of the articles… all 54, have been met (either now or in the past) in my life.
I’m not trying to say my life has been a song full of kittens and daisies,
but just having my 54 rights maintained throughout my life… is enough to make me feel… so lucky… almost to the point of selfishness.
Particularly because of Article 24:
“you have the right to good quality health care and to clean water, nutritious food and a clean environment so that you can stay healthy. Rich countries should help poorer countries achieve this”and I can almost guess that you picked up on the end of this article.
rich countries should help poorer countries.
see in article 24, it gives those children who live in oppressive countries the RIGHT to receive help from us.
if you minimize… from country to country, to child to child:
by doing nothing… I’d be denying another child from their right to be helped.
there are some things that are so much bigger than my own problems in this world.
I think I forget that sometimes.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

